BRICS Science, Technology and Innovation (STI)

Members of the BRICS coalition at the fifth Summit in Durban, South Africa adopted a Declaration and Action Plan, which among other things mandated Ministers of Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) from member countries to convene every year. The declaration adopted by then Presidents of Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa on March 2013, has since been implemented to date.

BRICS is still emphasising collaboration in STI.  South African Minister of Science and Technology said during the 2018 meeting said “Brazil and India had already succeeded in their grassroots development programmes and will be sharing their models with South Africa.”

Purposed to heighten cooperation, the 2018 Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation meeting, was held under theme “Leveraging Science, Technology and Innovation through inclusive Growth and Development,” was held in Durban.

“The ministerial meeting adopted the Durban STI Declaration, the BRICS STI Action Plan 2018-2019 and the results of the Second Call for Proposals under the BRICS STI Framework Programme.

Brazil’s Vice-Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Alvaro Toubes Prata, said things were moving fast in the science and technology fields, and people should prepare themselves for the changes. Prata said one of the challenges they faced was trying to empower and prepare people for the fourth industrial revolution – the digital revolution,” reports IOL.


by: Kgothatso Nkanyane  

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *