Russia signs 19 military cooperation deals in sub-Sahara Africa

The Russian government has signed military cooperation agreements with 19 sub-Saharan African countries from Ethiopia to Nigeria. Africa has 54 member countries that are also part of the United Nations which is the largest voting bloc of the UN, three of which are on the Security Council.

Having African allies is key in gaining a strong influence on global affairs and the direction of the global economy making Africa very appealing for Russia. Thus far Russia is working with the Central African Republic by sending arms, contractors and support the country’s military by training the soldiers.

African countries Russia has signed deals with since 2015 include Ethiopia, Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Chad, Sudan and South Africa.  Deals mostly encompass nuclear technology, defence contracts, military training in anti-terrorism and piracy operations.



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *