Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) strides

The year 2018 marks eighteen years of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO). The SCO now boasts eight full members, four observers and six “dialogue partners” – China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

At its 2018 Qingdao Summit, it formally welcomed India and Pakistan as the organisation’s new members. Stretching from Eurasia to South Asia, the SCO now contains 44 per cent of the world’s population and 21 percent of its GDP, reports East Asia Forum.

Today the SCO has grown further to promote peace and stability among its members through cooperating in domains of security, politics,trade and cultural understanding.

The SCO has over the years expanded far beyond the region. Security, economic and people-to-people cooperation have become pillars in the SCO’s development, says China Institute of International Studies. The SCO successes include; continuous expansion in security cooperation, steady advances in economic cooperation and cultural cooperation.


By: Kgothatso Nkanyane



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *